How to Become an Instructor

In order to become an instructor, a candidate must have experience as a referee and be 18 years of age. We recommend that any candidate for instructor have at least gone through the assessment process and be very well versed in the application of the Laws of the Game. This will typically mean that an instructor have at least 3 years experience as a referee, be able to pass the state referee exam with a score of 85% or better and it is helpful, though not mandatory, the the candidate have been at least a grade 7 referee at some point in their career.

Western New York only holds instructor classes on a needs basis, but they are available in other states if a candidate wishes to travel to complete the requirements. When instructor classes are available, they will be posted below. If a candidate wishes to take one of the classes out of state, we recommend that they contact Tom Ross, the State Director of Instruction before making arrangements since a local class may be in planning.

Instructor Courses Currently Available in Western New York
Course Date/Time Location Contact &
Other Information
There are currently no Instructor Courses being offered in Western New York.
Training requirements to become an instructor are listed below:
Instructor Grade Instructional Assignments Experience Requirements Instructional Requirements
7-Instructor Lead on Entry Level Classes and Basic Recert Classes. Assist on higher level classes. None The 12 hour Grade 7 Instructor course.
5-State Instructor Lead on all state level classes. Assist on national classes. At least 1 year successful performance as an Instructor The 16 hour State Instructor course.

Any questions regarding the instruction program in Western New York should be directed to
Tom Ross, the State Director of Instruction.